Which is why scary books about people out in the woods are so effective for me. I don’t want to be out there, but I love reading about other people doing it. One of my favorite camping horror stories — which is unfortunately no longer in print — is The Summer is Ended and We Are Not Yet Saved by Joey Comeau. It was expanded from the original novella Bible Camp Bloodbath. (Which has maybe my favorite jacket description: “Martin is going to Bible Camp for the summer. He’s going to make new friends. And he’s excited, but that’s probably because nobody told him what this book is called.”) So please join me in celebrating terrible things happening to people on hikes and rafting trips and summer camp adventures, which can be enjoyed from the comfort of your own home. Please also note that like most horror, this sub-genre is mostly written by white, male-presenting authors, so if you know of any great diverse camping horror, please let us know!

Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 42Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 52Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 97Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 63Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 97Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 66Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 48Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 96Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 91Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 23Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 93Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 19Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 29Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 91Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 51Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 84Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 42Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 90Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 10Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 73Dude  Where s My Tent   9 Great Camping Horror Books - 55